NL Winter Games 2018

The NL Winter Games will take place March 10-18, 2018 in Deer Lake.  The badminton competition will take place during the second half of the games.

Visit  Deer Lake Games 2018 and NL Games for more info


Regional Play-downs
Central Region December 9, 2017
Leo Burke Academy
Bishop’s Falls, NL
Avalon Region January 6, 2018
Ascension Collegiate
Bay Roberts, NL
Eastern Region January 20, 2018
Glovertown Academy
Glovertown, NL
Labrador Region January 20, 2018
Lake Melville School
North West River, Labrador

Teams from up to 9 regions will compete at the NL Games. Regions are geographically defined as follows (regional team color in brackets):


    1. St. John’s/North (Red) – St. John’s and north to Cape St. Francis, Bell Island, Torbay, Portugal Cove-St. Philips and Petty Harbour-Maddox Cove.

    2. Mount Pearl/South (Indigo Blue) – Mount Pearl, Paradise, and all communities on the Southern Shore from Bay Bulls to Trepassey inclusive.

    3. Avalon (Ash Grey) – generally, all communities on the Avalon Peninsula and Isthmus of Avalon which are not included in the St. John’s/North and Mount Pearl/South regions, up to but excluding Arnold’s Cove. This includes Conception Bay South to Holyrood; the Conception Bay north shore (Conception Harbour to Grates Cove); the Trinity shore (Old Perlican to Blaketown) and up but excluding Arnold’s Cove; the areas surrounding Long Harbour, Whitbourne, and Placentia; the Cape Shore and St. Mary’s Bay up to but excluding Trepassey.

    4. Eastern (Sand) – northwest of and including Arnold’s Cove, including the Bonavista Peninsula, the Burin Peninsula west to Pool’s Cove inclusive; Clarenville and northeast to Gambo but not including Gambo.

    5. Central (Maroon) – Gambo and west to Hampden, north to Notre Dame Bay and south to the south coast. This includes Bonavista North (Hare Bay, Wesleyville, Musgrave Harbour, Gander Bay); Gander; Fogo Island; Twillingate, Lewisporte; Botwood; Bishop’s Falls; Grand Falls – Windsor south to Harbour Breton; west of Harbour Breton to include François; east of Harbour Breton to (but exclusive of) Pool’s Cove; Springdale and the Baie Verte Peninsula south to Hampden.

    6. Western (Royal Blue) – west of Hampden, including the Northern Peninsula, and all communities west of François.

    7. Labrador (Forest Green) – all parts of Labrador.

    8. Host Region (White) – shall be defined on a Games-by-Games basis by the Recreation and Sport Division. For the 2018 Winter Games it is the Town of Deer Lake.

    9. St. Pierre & Miquelon – invited to participate.

Check back as more info will be added as it becomes available.