B a d m i n t o n     -     P l a y  N o w     -     P l a y  F o r  L i f e


LTAD Stages

A clear path to better sport, greater health, and higher achievement.

Children, youth and adults need to do the right things at the right time to develop in their sport or activity – regardless of the sport of interest.  Long-Term Athlete Development (LTAD) describes the things athletes need to be doing at specific ages and stages.

Science, research and decades of experience all point to the same thing: kids and adults will get active, stay active, and even reach the greatest heights of sport achievement if they do the right things at the right times. This is the logic behind the Long-Term Athlete Development model (LTAD).

There are seven stages within the basic LTAD model:

  • Stage 1: Active Start (0-6 years)

  • Stage 2: FUNdamentals (girls 6-8, boys 6-9)

  • Stage 3: Learn to Train (girls 8-11, boys 9-12)

  • Stage 4: Train to Train (girls 11-15, boys 12-16)

  • Stage 5: Train to Compete (girls 15-21, boys 16-23)

  • Stage 6: Train to Win (girls 18+, boys 19+)

  • Stage 7: Active for Life (any age participant)


For more info check out Badminton Canada's Badminton For Life book